Using Groups and Sharing Links

Groups allows for multiple editors to collaborate on links to ensure everyone has the access they need when they need it.


BL.INK now supports groups and shared links. Users can create groups from within their dashboard to share links between users under the same account. This article will walk through the steps to create and edit a group, add collaborators to a group, and add a group to a link.


NOTE:

This is an Enterprise-only feature. For more information on BL.INK Enterprise plans, click here.


Creating a group

To create a group, start by logging in to the BL.INK dashboard. Click on Admin > Groups



Enter a name for the new group in the first field. Users may also enter an internal-only note describing the group, team, etc.


To share the group with other users, select the checkbox next to Shared Group. This allows for other users under the domain to see and use the group, as well as edit the group settings. If other users should not have access to edit the group, leave the checkbox unchecked.



Then click Add Group.


By default, the user that created the group will be the group owner. To add additional users to the group, follow the steps below.


Adding collaborators to a group

Once the group has been created, click on the Edit button (pencil icon) to the right of the group.



To add more users to the group, scroll down, and select the checkbox next to the users that should have access to the group’s links. Once all of the group members have been added, click Update to save the changes. 


Now, these users will have access to any links created and shared with that group.


Editing or deleting a group

To edit the group, click on Admin > Groups. Find the group from the list, and click on the Edit button (pencil icon) to the right of the group.


From here, change the link owner by clicking on the drop-down at the top, and selecting the new link owner.


The next fields allow users to update the group name and notes.


Users may also share or unshare a group with other users.



NOTE:

Shared groups allow other users to edit the group. Private groups maintain all group settings and only the group owner can edit the group.


After making the changes, click Update to save.


To delete a group, click Admin > Groups. Then click the Edit button (pencil icon). Click the Delete button at the bottom of the Edit Group page. 


NOTE:

Deleting a group is permanent, and cannot be reversed. Please proceed with caution.


Creating a shared link

Users may add a group or share a link while creating a new link, or they may update an existing link.


Creating a new shared link

To create a new shared link, start by following the steps to create a group (see above). 


NOTE:

A group can only be assigned to a link if it has already been created.


Once the group has been created, select the domain from the drop-down at the top of the page. Then click New Link > Branded Link


Enter the long URL in the first field. BL.INK will automatically generate a keyword. To customize the keyword, highlight the field, and then type in the new keyword.


On the right side of the New Branded Link page, click on the first field on the right, share with groups. Select the group from the list. 



Enter any other link settings (example: description, tags, etc). Then click Save to save the new link.


Adding a group to an existing link

To add a group to an existing link, start by logging in to BL.INK. 


NOTE:

Before users can add a group to an existing link, the group must already exist. See instructions above for creating a group.


Click on Links > My Links. Use the filtering options to find the existing link, and then click on the Edit button (pencil icon) to the right.


On the Edit Branded Link page, click on the share with groups field in the upper right. Select the group from the list. Then click Update to save the changes. 

Accessing shared links

To access shared links, start by logging in to the BL.INK dashboard. Click on Links > Shared Links.


This page will display all links shared with your group(s). Use the filtering options at the top of the page to search for specific links. From here, users may click on the link to view the link, edit the details, or view click data associated with a link.


Have more questions about groups or shared links? Reach out to BL.INK Support.


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.